Oh SNAP! (not in a good way)

Being somebody who is disinclined towards adequate amounts of sleep grants me certain unique abilities: for instance, on this particular day, September 15th, it has allowed me to totally lose my s**t while everybody else gets to dream about walruses and unicorns, and the crazy worlds on which those two animals can wear top hats, adhere to strict, Victorian-era-style codes of ethics and social activities, and possibly occasionally play a variant of Bridge with one another.  Alas, I have no such benefit.

Here’s a fun little headline you guys will get to see when you wake up, and, while I may not have walruses and unicorns, at least I’ve got quite a few more hours to figure out how not to, as previously mentioned, totally lose my s**t:

The American financial system was shaken to its core on Sunday.

That quote comes courtesy of the September 16th edition (wait, how does that work?) of the Wall Street Journal, and it references the day we just got done with only a few hours ago, at least from my point of view.  Being in a perpetual state of not having a whole lot of money, finances are not something I dedicate a whole lot of my time to. Well, okay, I’ll be honest. I set myself up a 401(k) without fully understanding what the hell a 401(k) even was, and when I read the above article for the first time about half an hour ago, it was the first time I had even heard of a few of the financial organizations involved. Being that there were only several financial organizations mentioned, not knowing a few is a fairly bleak ratio.

Regardless, the gist of this is that Lehman Brothers Holdings Inc., AIG, and Merrill Lynch are all going to hell in a handbasket tomorrow, and the proximity of these events to the US Government’s buyout of Freddie Mac and Fannie Mae is thoroughly unfortunate for American citizens, because all three of those firms were kind of top dogs on campus in the American financial sector only a few months ago.

How unfortunate? Well, we’ve got a few hours until we know for sure – I don’t think the sky is falling, but it’s dark outside, so it may well be falling really stealthy-like.

Leave a Reply

